This emptiness

​In this emptiness,

That has developed

A crack

In the window

Of my soul,

I seek

To tame

The beast inside,

As my mind

Searches the one thing

That keeps me sane

In this sea

Of chaos,

Of uncertainty,

Of all the unloved days,

Looking for a flicker

Of light, or of hope

In the dark

Of my heart

As memories fade,

And times change

People fall in and out

Of the velvety place

Of the heart

Where they have stayed

And during this period

Of emptiness,

They’ve all treaded out

With heavy shoes

Causing pain

And have not returned;

And in this emptiness,

I shall strive

To find myself,

Save myself,

While this void extends 

To the end

Of the horizon,

Where the molten lava

Eats up my fears

Alive.

Where there is salvation,

Where my heart 

Becomes pure,

Where I can forget

All sorrows

And drown

Into the fiery liquid

That consumes me entirely;

When I can finally

Be at peace.

Leave a Reply

