The advent of Summer

I came up with this poem, reminiscing of today afternoon — another limerick, actually.

Like the steam from a cup of incredibly hot coffee,

Arose the vapor from the ground beneath me;

Its ruthless suffocation spread around,

Even as rain drummed onto the ground,

As I cycled Kumbakonam’s streets in a senseless spree.

And don’t you think the ‘steam’ part cannot be true. Today, I saw it with my own eyes… steam rising from the ground… evaporation while condensation. I was totally soaked wet in the rain, yet I felt so suffocated! And that felt a little weird… and a lot stuffy. Really, I didn’t enjoy today’s rain because of the stuffiness. Gah.

Leave a Reply

