Sorry, Fifty shades of WHAT?

I started reading ‘fifty shades of grey’ today, just because I thought it would be a worthy read, as it had become way popular. I had read quite a bit with patience before I couldn’t stand it anymore and just deleted the file from my laptop. Don’t be offended, it was just not my type of book. And if you agree with me, read on; if you’re a fan, I’d suggest you stop reading this.

Fifty shades of weakness evident on the MC of E L James’ book: How much weaker can a girl get? I’m not someone who discourages having weak characters in a story; they’re needed to keep the story running if the story demands so, but I think Anastasia Steele really needs to get a grip on herself.

Being physically weak is nothing shameful about a character, not even being weak emotionally. But the thing I hate the most in Anastasia Steele’s character is that she’s someone who’s weak enough not to see that the thing that she plays with is fire until her fingers got burnt. It is ridiculous how she fails to realize that Christian Grey’s arrogance might, after all, burn her. How blind can she get?

And the whole ‘love at first sight’ thingy is absurd (it wasn’t even love, for goodness’ sake!). If I interview someone (okay, let’s say he’s good looking, ‘cause Mr. Grey is described so) and if I find him answering me with utter arrogance, I’d be on the verge of punching him in the face, controlling my fists. I would never in my wildest dreams fall in love with someone who’s even a bit like the character of Mr. Grey.

I read a bit, got bored, jumped to the last paragraph of the book, skimmed it (not ‘read’, but ‘skimmed’ enough to get the gist of the ending), got to know that she was crying in the end, and deleted it. I never let myself even accidentally get to know of the ending — be it a book or a movie, but today, I really did. Who wouldn’t in their rational minds know of the consequences of dating a man who likes to torture women? I wanted to yell at my laptop, “Control yourself, girl! Don’t blame him to be a control freak when you can’t control yourself!”

After I read that he was actually no lover but a torturer, which is the ultimate truth, but gives it a completely different name – ‘dominant’ (bleh), I just couldn’t stop wondering why and how on earth the book got popular at all. Being ‘submissive’ is something a woman should never be. And that too towards an arrogant dickhead of a character like Grey?

I do not want to read a book that has the main characters struggling to stick to someone who didn’t give a damn about them at all. Anastasia Steele sounds a bit smart every time she says ‘I have to study for my exams’, but later, when she wanted to accept all those rules that Grey even dared to mention it to her (if it were me, he’d be dead the very moment) I wondered if she even used something called a ‘brain’.

I expected to read ‘yet another romance novel’, but I guess I was wrong. It turned out to be ‘the most annoying story from a silly girl’.

Certainly not a worthy read.

2 comments

  1. sourgirlohio · July 20, 2014

    Your distaste for this horrible book caught my attention. Nice blog:)

    Like

    • Akila · July 21, 2014

      Hehe, I’m glad y7ou like my blog 😀

      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

