What’s life without fear?

The Daily Post asked me: What would your life be like if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would it be better or worse?

Before coming to that question, let’s analyze something.

Do I want a life that has no fear in it? What kind of life is perfect? One that’s void of fear?

Fear is a four letter word that rules the emotions of people. Not all, though, have the same kind of fear.

I fear of physical illnesses and diseases that are going to consume my body as a whole when I get old. I also have a fear for flies (especially the cockroaches that fly) and I’m a bit nervous when I’m about to give some sort of performance, be it a seminar or a group discussion.

There are quite a few things for which we all fear, but we don’t realize it.

Why do you go to work on time? In fear of getting fired.

Why do you want to follow the traffic rules? In fear of getting caught or in fear for your life.

If this fear doesn’t exist, then things would be upside down by now. There would be no proper rules to guide us – note that even the rules are made in fear of the consequences that occur if we don’t follow them.

Fear – it often does good things. People who have a fear of heights easily avoid heights, and hence they have a less probability of falling off the terrace.

Here’s another reason why fear is not welcome: the person will miss the spectacular view of the city one gets from the heights.

I’d say all phobias have to be stricken out with the wordpress fantasy wand before they can haunt people any further. After all, we’re given an opportunity to fantasize our life once a day!

My conclusion is that fear has to be there, but only in places where it’s needed. And that makes (not only mine) everyone’s life perfect!

Now coming to the question: What would my life be like if I were incapable of feeling fear?

I’d be a spoilt brat.

And my life –it would either be way too awesome (awesomely messed up) or way too dangerous that’d put me in the ‘endangered’ zone and I’d not even be capable to fear about – either way, it would be messed up.

In other words, I wouldn’t prefer concentrating on eating chips to running for life when I spot a tiger – not that I’d spot one anyway. Tigers would become extinct one day. 😦

I am not overcome by fear of something or the other every now and then, but still, I need fear.

An example? I always go late to college, even though I fear I wouldn’t be allowed in the classroom—but that is the only fear that makes me wake up every morning!
😀

Leave a Reply

