The voice that threatened…

Don’t read me,
I say, don’t read me.
I get it that you’re keen enough
To open the secret and set it free.

Don’t read me,
I say, don’t read me.
I hold no bold secrets within;
They’re but stories about my wounded knee.

Don’t read me,
I say, don’t read me.
Just close this page,
Sit comfortably and sip some tea.

Don’t read me,
I say, don’t read me.
I have nothing, but a few words
To tell thee.

Don’t read me,
I say, don’t read me.
That’s what I’ve been telling you all along;
To not read, or you’ll pay your fee.

Don’t read me,
I say, don’t read me!
I’m the written form of a lone voice,
Who is far beyond the wide sea.

Don’t read me,
Please, read no more!
Because I’m long dead and am waiting
To hunt down the next person who got ashore.

Please read me,
Oh, please do read…
Just so you know, that within minutes,
You’ll be as good as a rotten seed.

Leave a Reply

