How I unintentionally helped Mrs. Pauley

 

A short story written in first person, in the point of view of a twelve year old boy for writing 101: writing challenge.

***

 

I was playing with my new plastic bat in my lane when I heard a voice beside the house I stood. The voice made me stop playing and eavesdrop.

“I will somehow try to pay it within a month, sir, please give me some more time.” The desperate cries of a woman tore through the otherwise silent air, as I stood there, motionless. It was Mrs. Pauley.

I slowly peeked through their gate and let my eyes wander. Sure enough, I saw Mrs. Pauley, sobbing hard, with some sturdy looking old man and a cop.

What are they trying to do to her?

I slowly tiptoed to the other side of the gate to get a clear view and a clear idea of what they were talking about. It looked like Mrs. Pauley couldn’t handle paying the rent for her house as she lived alone.

Mr. Pauley had his cancer operation done after it had reached its advanced stage, knowing no hope was left. That operation took two things from the Pauleys, mother had said. Their hard earned money, and Mr. Pauley’s life.

However, Mrs. Pauley wasn’t someone who surrendered to the depression that threatened to suck her in. She still wore a happy smile and sent all her six sons out to work, as they were short on money.

Mother said that Mrs. Pauley was a kind hearted woman and she prayed for Mrs. Pauley’s sons to return soon with whatever amount of money they have made.

“Okay, Mrs. Pauley.” A rough voice made me snap to reality. “We shall see this weekend. If your money is not returned by then…”

The next thing I experienced was the gate smashing right against my nose as the sturdy man barged out, with the cop following closely behind.

“See you this weekend, ma’am,” said the cop as the duo barely noticed me.

Mrs. Pauley didn’t have any money to buy me candies anymore? Oh,no! That would be a great issue!

I went straight to the phone stand at the far end of the lane and took out the only coin I possessed. I put it into the slot and held receiver tight.

“Hello?” The person on the other end of the line answered.

“Hey Brian, it’s me,” I said, knowing the youngest of the Pauleys would surely recognize my voice.

And immediately I got a response. “Hey, dude, what’s up?”

“Something bad has happened,” I told him, as I knew I wouldn’t get candies from her every weekend. “Mrs. Pauley needs money urgently, and you must come with whatever you have.” I hung up immediately.

“Good job, son.” A familiar voice said from behind, helping me put the receiver back onto the stand. “Mrs. Pauley does need money, and she wouldn’t tell her sons and make them suffer.”

I smiled, as mother ruffled my hair affectionately. “I had to do it, mother.”

***

 

Leave a Reply

