People having different lifestyles

Standard

Recently, I read the first two books of Amish Tripathi’s Shiva trilogy, and from the first book, ‘The Immortals of Meluha’, I learnt something — all the people who we think are wicked really might not be. Their way of thinking might just be different (by different, I mean totally different) and that makes those people a total opposite of us. As we think that we’re ‘good’, we might end up with the conclusion that whoever is the total opposite of us, who have a totally different culture, those who define ethical values differently, are evil.

 

One has to realize that everyone has something going on in their own minds, and if someone is mean to you, they didn’t really mean to. They just thought that you were different, and didn’t like you much. Not everyone in this world is the same. I might be a bit different from the others in my friends circle, I call myself unique, even though many of them make fun of me. No one had meant to hurt me. They did so because I was just different.

 

Everyone has their own thoughts and opinions, and everyone follows certain rules to keep their lives running smoothly. Most of us follow one rule, though: there are no rules. These people are often detested by those people who live a a totally organized life constricted with rules.

 

I, for example, don’t include many complicated rules in my life, hence further complicating it. I just want to live a carefree life, but I always have respect for those who live their lives constricted with many rules. Everyone has their own habits and I, naturally, will detest those people whose habits look gross. I am no perfectionist myself, but when I see people spit on the roads, I often scrunch my face in disgust. They think differently — that they need not care.

I do not usually care about many things, but I care about the roads of my country. No wonder the roads are all littered and nasty in India. Look at Singapore — the Singaporeans will probably laugh at India’s trash-filled roads. But nevertheless, I love India, ’cause that’s where I live and that is my motherland. I care about being a bit polite to everyone. Not everyone says a polite ‘thank you’ when they visit any shop and buy something. I always try to be polite to others, unless they enter into my bad books. I usually do not care what people think of me, so if they think bad of me, I’ll just let that be. No rectifying my errors, no telling them that I’m not that bad, or whatever. I just don’t even care to give an explanation, as that’s not exactly what I think they’ll need. I’ll just leave it be. They’re just another group of people who think differently. And I also know that I might look different to someone else, and they might even hate me. But there’s nothing I can do, is there?

 

Evil and good balance themselves, is what Amish Tripati has written. I totally agree with him. They really do balance each other, but also, there’s no such thing as good and evil — it’s only an illusion of mind.

 

And coming to Amish’s work, ‘The immortals of Meluha’, there were two kingdoms following two different paths in ancient India. One were the Suryavanshis, literally meaning the descendants of the sun, and the Chandravanshis, meaning the descendants of the moon. The Suryavanshis had a strict way of life and they had a neatly organized kingdom, and the only thing that they were wrong about, is that they thought that the Chadravanshis were evil. After declaring war over them and winning it, did they get to know that the Chandravanshis weren’t actually what they thought they were. The Chandravanshis had no rules. They had very little, if any. So their way of life was completely different from that of the Suryavanshis, and most of them were spoilt because of no rules. They were kind, nevertheless. What is the point of realizing this after a huge war is fought and many a life lost? What is the value of the millions of lives that were shed in the war? If, in the end, both were to become allies, what was actually the point of war? That is the beauty of Amish’s writing. He has come up with a twist as that, and much more in his next book, ‘The secret of the Nagas’. But unfortunately, I still haven’t acquired the last book of the trilogy, ‘The Oath of the Vayuputras’. Reading that would make things complete, but still, I had something to share with you people, so I just did.

 

So.. How many of you think different? How many of us have different lifestyles? Almost everyone seems different to someone or the other, don’t they? 🙂 That’s the ultimate truth.

 

But still, one thought keeps itching in my mind. If everyone thinks differently, then why do the terrorists think far more differently? Why do they not let people live? What is the thing that they usually have in mind? Do they have any space left in their heart for love? Why should I not consider them evil?

 

For these questions, my friends, I have no answers. If you do, please do enlighten me, for, I never have thought that they should be considered just different. That might be true, they don’t ever think like us, but why? Why do they want to kill a million innocent lives? What do they earn by bombing?

Leave a Reply

